Father’s Day Card … with a skirt on

30 May

This is the Father’s Day card my husband would be getting this year from his 11/2 yr old daughter and his 5 yr old son.

Making something in my craft room always relaxes me but this is a card that made me think.

Would any self-respecting man like to get this card?? Probably not. But would a dad like to get this card from his little girlie girl who thinks a card should wear a skirt – I know he would.

Then I contemplated even longer and harder whether I should post it on my blog AND submit it for a challenge – my reputation as a card maker/designer is at stake here if I put this out there and call it a masculine card. My kids are thrilled with this card, my husband would be tickled pink to receive it so why shouldn’t I be happy to give it to a man?

So I’m done thinking about this card and here is a shout out to all the craftswomen out there – who cares if your masculine card has some ribbon on it or a fancy flourish … Art should be fun and I love my fun, bordering on ridiculous looking, card.

Enjoy and have a Happy Father’s Day!

Details of the card:

Background was inked with Ranger Distressed Ink – Mustard Seed & Wild Honey. Popcorn the Bear is from Crafter’s Companion & sentiment is from Impression Obsession Clear stamp set – sentiments II. Popcorn the Bear was colored with Copic Markers (E31, E35, E50, E53, R20, Rv11, YG11, YG13, YG17, B21, B24, B29, B00, G03, G05, G07, E07, E37, E71, E74).

Challenge enter:

Impression Obsession

One Crazy Stamper

Flourishes Timeless Tuesday Challenge

Crafter’s Companion Monthly Challenge

17 Responses to “Father’s Day Card … with a skirt on”

  1. Cindy haffner May 31, 2011 at 9:45 PM #

    Super SWEET!!~

  2. Shirley June 2, 2011 at 10:31 AM #

    OMGosh, Steph, this is just too too cute!! That bear, the paper, kick back, and the garden tools make it the perfect male card…..and I love the blue fringe too! Love your new blog too! Thank you for playing and good luck in the drawing too!!!

  3. Katie June 4, 2011 at 2:15 AM #

    You definitely have the right idea. I enjoyed your banter. Very nice card! Thank you for sharing.

    Katie

    • artycarty June 5, 2011 at 10:34 PM #

      Thank you Katie – I frequently argue with myself.

  4. Makiko June 7, 2011 at 10:09 AM #

    Wonderful father’s day card!! I love your coloring and the fringe trim! Thank you for playing along with the FTTC.

  5. Heather Jensen June 7, 2011 at 1:23 PM #

    How funny! I am sure he will love it…skirt and all. This is a fabulous Father’s Day card. Thanks for playing at FTTC. 🙂

  6. Linda Monroe June 8, 2011 at 8:34 AM #

    I’m glad you posted this. It’s adorable and frankly any card given to a dad by a 5 year old is loved and treasured.

  7. Shirley June 8, 2011 at 6:07 PM #

    Just stopped by to see if you had the Challenges widget in your sidebar and you do. I misspelled the second Summer and replaced the widget. So sorry……new code is:

    Thanks again for playing and good luck in the drawing too~!! 🙂

  8. Shirley June 8, 2011 at 6:08 PM #

    Darn, It wouldn’t take my code, Steph! You will have to pick it up at the IO blog. 😦

    • artycarty June 8, 2011 at 6:29 PM #

      will do .. thanks – hope you are well

  9. Silke Ledlow June 9, 2011 at 11:13 AM #

    Totally cute card Stephanie! So glad you had a chance to play along with us at the FTTC!!! Hugs ~S~

  10. charlene June 13, 2011 at 8:00 AM #

    Well I think your card is adorable and I am so glad you showed it off….I think the skirt gives it some of your daughters personality and after all that in my mind is what every card should have is some of the givers personality as well as the receivers.
    Thanks for playing along with us at CMC challenge group
    Hugs

    • michele spera June 14, 2011 at 8:28 AM #

      what an adorable card! love the coloring and the little bit of tulle at the bottom:-) Thank you for joining us at CMC
      XMicheleX

  11. Katie June 16, 2011 at 6:00 AM #

    This post seriously made me smile! I LOVE it and I think your card can be whatever you want it to be, you go girl! Thanks for joining us at Crafter’s Companion this month 🙂

    Katie xxx

  12. Christine June 19, 2011 at 5:44 PM #

    Absolutely adorable card. Any man should be proud to receive it! Coloring is fabulous. Visiting from CMC Challenge Group.

  13. Ruby 2 Shoes June 24, 2011 at 5:24 PM #

    Great card! You’re right from a little girl it would be so precious! Thanks for playing along with us at the CMC Copic Challenge.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Happy Father’s Day!! « THE ARTYCARTY BLOG - June 19, 2011

    […] are off today for brunch, my kids will be giving dad their Father’s Day card and a pirate’s hat. My son has been lately obsessed with pirates and this is the song he […]

Leave a Reply

